Clarence Prize

The 2017 Clarence Prize will be held from September 8 to October 8 in the Barn at Rosny Farm Arts Centre.

Clarence City Council is pleased to announce its shortlisted designers for the 2017 Clarence Prize:

Andrew Carvolth
Bernard Chandley
Bryan Cush
Hugh Altschwager
Jye Edwards
Murray Antill
Nicole Monks
Sara Lindsay
Tom Fereday
Niklavs Rubenis
Berto Pandolfo
Michael Travalia
Anna Freeman
James Howe
Nicholas Fuller


This biennial event has found its niche within Australia’s art community as a prize that celebrates accessible furniture art and is open to furniture designers operating within Australia.

The Prize contributes to Tasmania’s reputation as a leading cultural hub, brimming with vibrant arts experiences.

In 2017 one acquisitive prize of $20,000 will be awarded to the winner. The work will be acquired into the Clarence Collection. One non-acquisitive prize of $1,500 will be awarded for a work that is highly commended. One non-acquisitive encouragement award of $1,500 will be made to an emerging artist/designer.

2015 Winners  were

Winner $20,000 acquisitive award

Liam Mugavin: Koto Light

Highly commended award

Andrew Bartlett and Deb Jones – Bench seat DAB 714

Emerging designer award

Isabel Hazbun

For further information contact the Gallery Coordinator or Arts and Cultural Development
Coordinator – Phone (03) 6217 9607 or Email


Previous Winners

2015 Liam Mugavin (SA) Koto Light

2013 Laura McCusker (TAS) I-Beam Bench

2011 Simon Ancher (TAS) Clipped Wing Sideboard

2009 Fukutoshi Ueno (QLD) Dress Code Stools

2007 Sally Brown (TAS) Warp Bench


Join our mailing list